Suivre par Email

mercredi 18 septembre 2013

Atlas launches military communications satellite


An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched the third in a series of military communications satellites for the US Air Force early Wednesday. The Atlas 5 531 rocket lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 4:10 am EDT (0810 GMT) and placed the Advanced Extremely High Frequency (AEHF) 3 satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit 51 minutes later. The launch was postponed by more than hour because of clouds at the launch site. The Lockheed Martin-built AEHF-3 satellite, weighing more than 6,100 kilograms at launch, is designed to provide secure communications for the US military, joining two others launched in 2010 and 2012.

Posted: Wed, Sep 18, 2013, 7:27 AM ET (1127 GMT)

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire